邓浩诚


联合创始人 • 软件工程师 • 导师

我从小热爱科技,意识到科技可以改善我们的生活。在香港科技大学毕业后,我当了多年软件工程师,觉得应该利用科技,把知识分享出去,于是参与了个人化学习平台这个项目,从而鼓励学生多利用科技帮助他们学习。

黄钧陶


联合创始人 • 教学游戏设计师 • 导师

2013年,从香港中文大学计算机科学毕业后,我从事了三年帮助成绩较弱学生克服学习困难的工作。从中,我有一个令人不安的观察:学生越来越难专注在课业之上。

其实这并非新鲜事。早在2001年,美国教育家Marc Prensky提出:「Our students have changed radically. Today’s students are no longer the people our educational system was designed to teach.」 Prensky提出「数码移民」、「数码土著」的概念。新一代的年轻人,一出生便拥有电脑、手机等电子设备(数码土著),思维方式、对世界的认知从小就与上一代的成年人(数码移民)不同。教育系统是上一代成年人的心血结晶,但很遗憾已与新生一代的思维模式脱节了。

这是一场世界性的危机。娱乐产业高速崛起,无孔不入。新一代从小习惯互动,抗拒单向灌输。娱乐加上移动支付如虎添翼,毫不夸张地说,拥有一部手机,便拥有通往全世界的娱乐和海量资讯的钥匙。

我们的教育呢?引导学生有效学习的力量在哪里?二十年如一日,我们的教材还是老样子:工作纸、笔记等,在新一代眼里,存在感已然非常薄弱。

难道我们要新一代的学生,单靠「意志力」来抵抗诱惑?这现实吗?学习要变得有趣。教学模式、教材形式的升级刻不容缓,这就是我们发展的方向。

黄仪娟


教学顾问

港大毕业后,我一直从事教育、专业培训及考评工作,给我甚多机会反思,愉快学习应具备什么元素。考试,及固定内容的学习模式,应否是优质教育的基石?很多时候,看着聪敏的学生,让备试模式的教育系统,磨折怠尽,学习兴趣与动机流失。

学生学习的内容,能否有自选的空间?能否重新启动自发学习的情绪?制度除了培养考试尖子外,是否尚有馀地,让非尖子也能愉快学习?

三年前结识了两位年青人,用他们的技能与热诚,编製出游戏学习程式,让尖子非尖子,各自投入,由系统引导、练习一一存档,学习的动力,像土壤裡的种子,点滴攀升。

Tang Ho Shing Wilson


Co-founder • Software Engineer • Mentor

I love technology ever since I was a child. I believe that technology can make our lives better. After graduating from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, I became a software engineer and later joined the Neu Academy project. This will be the platform where students can learn happily and effectively.

Wong Kwan Toh Felix


Co-founder • Educational Game Designer • Mentor

After graduating from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2013, I have been helping non-performing students at various schools and organizations. An observation worries me: it is getting more difficult for students to stay focus on learning.

This is nothing new, actually. In 2001, educator Marc Prensky from the USA said, “Our students have changed radically. Today’s students are no longer the people our educational system was designed to teach.”

Prensky coined the terms “digital immigrants” and “digital natives”. The new generation - the digital natives, are born with digital devices such as computers and mobile phones. They think and perceive the world in an entirely different way, which the old generation - the digital immigrants, feel uneasy with and hard to comprehend. The current educational system was designed to teach “digital immigrants”, not “digital natives”, appears to be a little antiquated.

It is a worldwide crisis that we are facing here. Entertainment is everywhere, literally at the tip of your fingers. A light wipe or touch is all it takes to unlock all the entertainment services in the world.

On the other hand, our most commonly used learning materials, stacks of worksheets and exercises (still printed in black and white and need to be marked by hand), are still non-interactive and not conveniently accessible.

Do we expect the new generation to fight the temptation with will power alone? Is it even practical? Can’t we do anything to help? Make learning fun and convenient - this is my ultimate goal.

Wong Yee Kuen Cecilia


Advisor on Teaching and Learning

Immediately after my graduation from the University of Hong Kong, I joined the civil service and worked at the department which looked after public examinations. My career exposure in education and training gives me the opportunity to better understand what motivation means.

Top scoring in examinations alone does not guarantee quality as a person. Most of the time, examinations and a fixed curriculum bury the brightest minds. The system ignores the “non performing” students - seeds which are buried and forgotten.

This is an alternative pathway to learn to provide chances to these buried seeds. When students are given the choice to work on topics they are interested in, without having to compare their achievement with the others, their self ignited motivation outshines their withdrawn attitude. Momentum of learning gradually builds up.

I hope the self learn mode provided by Neu classroom will enhance the growth of many more buried seeds.